Oak Leaf Tea + The Health Benefits

Some of you may remember when I wrote about making Acorn Coffee. That was a very fun experience, which I enjoyed very much. It was, however, a rather long process, and if you want to set about making it, then you need to set aside around a full day, to accomplish this task.

Anyways, I was reading about leaves and how real teas are made from them. That got me thinking… Could I make tea from oak leaves?

Well, I researched it, found out about the amazing benefits oak leaves can give to your body, and I set about to create my own, oak leaf tea. Thus, giving you this post.

Before I get on to the recipe of how to make this delicious tea, let’s look at some of the health benefits of oak leaves.

  1. Prevents the growth of cancer cells
    Did you know that oak leaves can have an anticarcinogenic effect? Basically, it comes from its antioxidant, which can inhibit the free radicals, which can cause the growth of cancer cells. Isn’t that awesome?!
  2. Helps treat the gastric ulcer
    Oak leaves can help treat the gastric ulcer, through its flavonoid compound. Flavonoid releases its substance and can heal the gastric ulcer, also preventing the inflammation from happening.
  3. Reduces local inflammation
    Oak leaves can also help reduce the inflammation in the local areas of your body. If you are swelling up, or have redness in an area, you can literally just put oak leaves over it, reducing the amount of swelling and pain.
  4. Fights against viruses and bacteria
    Not only does the flavonoid compound of the oak leaves work as an anti-inflammatory agent as stated above, but it also has an antimicrobic effect. This helps your body better fight against viruses and bacteria, making it easier to recover from any infection.
  5. Helps treat fever
    Oak leaves have been used for years to substitute Quinine, relieving one of a fever.
  6. Reduce skin irritation
    Oak leaves can decrease skin irritation, also with the flavonoid compound, reducing the redness and swelling in the irritated area.
  7. Act as an Antiseptic
    Also with the flavonoid compound, oak leaves can act as an antiseptic. You can use the oak leaves to clean the debris, or bacterial, from the wound area. (If you do, just make sure to clean the wound with water first, before using the oak leaves.)
  8. Help stop bleeding
    Oak leaves also have the ability to help stop bleeding. Just pressing oak leaves over your bleeding area, will reduce the amount of blood lost.

Aren’t those all great reasons to use oak leaves more? I know that some of those reasons told of how to use the leaves externally, and not internally, but really oak leaves can be used to help support the body in both ways.

That being said, let’s look at a recipe, for how to make oak leaf tea!

To start off, you’re going to need 10-15 oak leaves, for a full pot of tea. I’ve only ever used old oak leaves, picked during the winter, but I’m sure fresh ones would work just as well.

Oak trees
Oak leaves

Gather your leaves, then rinse them, preferably with tap water.

Rinsing the leaves!

Next, fill your teapot with water and place the leaves inside.

The oak leaves in teapot

Place the teapot over a burner, and bring to a boil, over high heat.

Once the water is boiling and the tea has steeped long enough, remove the teapot from heat, and pour into a teacup.

Enjoy!!

It honestly very much reminds me of the acorn coffee I made… It has that sort of woody taste, but it’s absolutely delightful, in my opinion.

My oak tea and I!

I hope that y’all enjoyed reading this!! You should totally try it out, sometime. It’s super easy, fun and in opinion, tasty, too. 🙂

Cheers!!

– Keziah ❤

29 thoughts on “Oak Leaf Tea + The Health Benefits”

  1. All those health benefits tho!! 😍 I’d love to make oak leaf tea sometime. Who knew oak leaves were so wonderful for you? I love when God packs His creation with such goodness for our bodies. Thanks for sharing, Keziah!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I would have never guessed you could make tea out of dried Oak Leaves, let alone the fact that it has so many benefits! Totally trying this out. If I can find an Oak Tree. XD Thank you for sharing!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s an acquired taste lol… but has more vitamin c than a glass of orange juice.

        If y’all have white pine out your way try it. I’ve used long leaf pine too. There’s really no difference in taste. Do some research on it.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I don’t think fresh leaves will work quite as well. The tea comes from tannic acid, which is a product of the breakdown of the leaf. The acid is responsible for the brown color dead leaves have. “If the leaf contains a high concentration of tannic acid, the leaf can be boiled, and the tannic acid will dissolve into the water, making tea.” -Dr. Jay Wile, Marilyn Durnell; Exploring Creation with Biology 2nd Edition. So every dead leaf can be made into tea because of the tannic acid, although some leaves can be poisonous or taste downright horrendous. That was according to my science book, I read about it yesterday actually. Of course, the book was printed 5 yrs. ago so something new might have come up that negates all that. Anyway, I enjoyed reading about it and am going to try it at some point!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, you have to soak and boil the leaves for a very long time until the water is clear, to get the tannins out. It’s very similar to making acorn coffee.

      Like

  4. This weekend, we trimmed a couple of oak trees. I filled my dehydrator with as many leaves as would fit and then decided to try making tea with the rest. I couldn’t find any suggestions on using fresh leaves so I figured I’d experiment! I actually made a tisane, I believe, by boiling the leaves in water for 10 min. I tried it without honey and the flavor was like a strong tea with a coffee-like finish. My husband said he wouldn’t mind having that some mornings! I’m not sure if it would be wise to drink regularly, but it’s a nice (free) changeup to coffee!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment